Mayor's Office

Mayor Arulampalam

Arunan Arulampalam was sworn in as the 68th mayor of the City of Hartford on January 1, 2024. 

Mayor Arulampalam is a father, husband, attorney, former nonprofit executive, and is committed to strengthening our neighborhoods and building a Hartford that works for everyone.

The son of Sri Lankan refugees, Mayor Arulampalam was born in Zimbabwe. He made a home and eventually a family in Hartford soon after graduate school. Prior to being elected mayor, Mayor Arulampalam served as the CEO of the Hartford Land Bank, where he developed a first-in-the-nation program to train Hartford residents to become local developers and tackle blight in Hartford. The Land Bank takes on the city’s vacant and blighted properties and, with the help of Hartford developers, fixes them up to encourage investment in our neighborhoods across the city. 

Mayor Arulampalam also served in the Lamont Administration as Deputy Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection where he went after a notorious Connecticut slumlord and fought for consumer rights and small businesses. Before then, he was a lawyer downtown at the firm of Updike, Kelly & Spellacy, P.C. Mayor Arulampalam also served on the Board of the Hartford Public Library, the House of Bread, and on the Hartford Redevelopment Authority. He earned his B.A. in International Studies from Emory University and his J.D. from Quinnipiac University School of Law.

Mayor Arulampalam lives in the Frog Hollow neighborhood in a formerly vacant and blighted house with his wife and five small kids. Mayor Arulampalam’s wife, Liza, is the Senior Minister of the First Church of Christ (Center Church) in Hartford.

Chief Operating Officer Thea Montanez

 

Thea Montanez

Chief Operating Officer
thea.montanez@hartford.gov
 Yahaira Escribano Chief of Staff

 

Yahaira Escribano

Chief of Staff
Yahaira.Escribano@hartford.gov
Fire Chief Barco - Hat    

 

Rodney Barco

Fire Chief
BarcR001@hartford.gov 

Chief of Police Jason Thody  

 

Jason C. Thody

Chief of Police
jason.thody@hartford.gov
 Kristina Baldwin

 

Kristina Baldwin

Director of Families, Children, Youth, and Recreation
Kristina.Baldwin@hartford.gov

 Director of Community Engagement, Janice C Castle

 

Janice Castle

Director of Community Engagement
janice.castle@hartford.gov

  Interim DDS Director

 

Randal Davis

Interim Director of Development Services
Randal.Davis@hartford.gov

 Director Photo

 

Marlene Fleeting

Director of Human Resources and Labor Relations
FLEEM001@hartford.gov
  Jonathan Harding Corporation Counsel

 

Jonathan Harding

Acting Corporation Counsel
Jonathan.Harding@hartford.gov

Chris Hayes

Chris Hayes

Acting Director of Public Works
christopher.hayes@hartford.gov.

 Ebony Jackson-Shaheed Director of Health & Human Services

Ebony Jackson-Shaheed

Director of Health and Human Services
Ebony.Jackson-Shaheed@hartford.gov

Director of Finance, Leigh Ann Ralls  

Leigh Ann Ralls

Director of Finance
RALLL001@hartford.gov

Director of Metro Hartford Innovation Services, Charisse Snipes

Charisse Snipes

Director of Metro Hartford Innovation Services
charisse.snipes@hartfordschools.org

 Director of Emergency Services & Telecommunications, Susan Webster

 

Susan Webster

Director of Emergency Services & Telecommunications
susan.webster@hartford.gov