Mayor's Office

Luke Bronin & Family

Luke Bronin was sworn in as the 67th mayor of the City of Hartford on January 1, 2016, and was reelected to a second term in November of 2019.

Mayor Bronin is a husband, a father, a veteran, and an attorney, and he is committed to building a stronger Hartford for all of the city’s residents.

After taking office in 2016, Mayor Bronin led the city through the biggest fiscal crisis in the city’s history, working to put Hartford on a path to fiscal stability. In addition to promoting economic development and investment, his administration has focused on building opportunity for Hartford residents through key initiatives like the Youth Service Corps and the Reentry Welcome Center. He has also worked to position Hartford as a center of innovation and establish Hartford a leader in environmental stewardship.

Prior to becoming mayor, Mayor Bronin served in senior positions in both federal and state government. In 2013, he was appointed by then-Connecticut Governor Dannel P. Malloy to serve as General Counsel. As the governor’s chief lawyer, Bronin was deeply involved in developing policies to combat veterans’ homelessness, pass common sense gun laws, expand economic opportunities, reform our criminal justice system, and protect our environment.

Prior to his role in the Governor’s office, he served in the Obama Administration as the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Terrorist Financing and Financial Crimes at the U.S. Department of the Treasury. In that role, he helped lead the federal government’s efforts to isolate and disrupt international terrorist groups, and advanced U.S. national security and foreign policy interests.  Previously, he served as the Senior Advisor to the Deputy Secretary of the U.S. Treasury, as an international affairs fellow with the Council on Foreign Relations, and as Chief of Staff to the President of Property and Casualty Operations at the Hartford Financial Services Group, one of the capital city’s largest employers.

Mayor Bronin served as an officer in the U.S. Navy Reserve and was a member of the military’s anti-corruption task force during his deployment to Afghanistan from September 2010 to April 2011. He earned his B.A. and J.D. from Yale University and his M.A. from Oxford University, where he studied as a Rhodes Scholar.

He and his wife Sara live in Hartford with their three young kids.

Chief Operating Officer Thea Montanez

Thea Montanez

Chief Operating Officer
thea.montanez@hartford.gov

Vasishth Srivastava

Chief of Staff
SRIVV001@hartford.gov

Fire Chief Reginald Freeman

Reginald D. Freeman

Fire Chief
reginald.freeman@hartford.gov

Chief of Police Jason Thody  

Jason C. Thody

Chief of Police
jason.thody@hartford.gov
 Liany Arroyo

Liany Arroyo

Director of Health and Human Services
liany.arroyo@hartford.gov

 Director of Community Engagement, Janice C Castle

Janice Castle

Director of Community Engagement
janice.castle@hartford.gov

 I-Charles-Mathews.jpg

I. Charles Mathews

Interim Director of Development Services
I.Charles.Mathews@hartford.gov

Robert Dakers   

Interim Director of Budget, Management & Grants
robert.dakers@hartford.gov

Director of Human Resources and Labor Relations, Thulani LeGrier  

Thulani LeGrier

Director of Human Resources and Labor Relations
Thulani.LeGrier@hartford.gov

Director of Family, Children, Youth, and Recreation, Kim Oliver

Kim Oliver

Director of Families, Children, Youth, and Recreation
kim.oliver@hartford.gov

Director of Finance, Leigh Ann Ralls  

Leigh Ann Ralls
 Director of Finance
RALLL001@hartford.gov

Corporation Counsel Howard Rifkin

Howard Rifkin

Corporation Counsel
howard.rifkin@hartford.gov

Interim Director of Metro Hartford Innovation Services, Charisse Snipes

Charisse Snipes

Interim Director of Metro Hartford Innovation Services
charisse.snipes@hartfordschools.org

Deputy Director of Public Works, Michael Looney

Michael Looney

Interim Director of Public Works
michael.looney@hartford.gov

  Director of Emergency Services & Telecommunications, Susan Webster

Susan Webster

Director of Emergency Services & Telecommunications
susan.webster@hartford.gov